What is going to happen? How long can his sentence be? The judge put a mandatory protection order for two and a half months and a $5,000 cash only bail.
Michael’s answer: 4th degree assault domestic violence. Assault in the 4th degree is a gross misdemeanor and thus cannot be a “Third Strike” under Washington’s Three Strikes Law. That said, a gross misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 364 days and a $5,000 fine. While he is not likely to get the max, if he is a convicted he is likely to get more time than on previous Assault 4 convictions.
As for the bail, “cash only” bail is not permitted under Washington law and if his bail is deemed cash only it should be challenged.